Application Process: [4] Class Demonstration

Okay, first thing. Let’s breakdown the class demo in four parts: [1] Introduction [2] Passage Reading [3] Warm-up Activity, and [4] Mini Lesson.

The first two parts were easy for me. Although for the remaining two parts, I had to dig deeper and think carefully of how best to execute it. I searched and searched. Sure there are many options available, but I tried to find the easiest, cheapest (less materials needed) and one that is doable in one minute and 30 seconds. Impossible? At first, yes. But then as I was practicing, it became manageable. I started off with three minutes, then gradually decreased as  I kept on practicing. And then I reached my goal. Same thing I did for the mini-lesson. It took me longer to plan the lesson through and manage the time, as compared to the warm-up.

Anyhow, I have chosen Simon Says for my warm-up. I tweaked a little, and replaced Simon with Teacher. I focused on body parts, and used only 4-6 throughout the activity. Again, this is only for a minute and a half. I started with a genki (energetic) greeting and asked the students to stand up, sit down and stand up again. I asked several body parts including the most popular ones such as head, knees, nose, and ears. As for the shoulders, I added some movement and instructed the students to shake their shoulders, slowly and then faster. And that was it.

SS-2013-10-22_16.41.27.png

For the mini-lesson, we had to select either of the two topics presented: shopping or directions. It didn’t took me long to choose shopping. I love it! And of course, it deemed easier to plan a lesson around it. I had to buy some paper materials and was required to bring at least one or two pieces of realia (real objects or pieces of writing, used to help teach students in a class). I knew the backdrop is all-white, so I decided to buy colorful materials, my favorites blue and pink. There was a dialogue to begin with, and I wrote it in the materials, along with vocabularies and other relevant phrases. I rehearsed for many, many times in front of a camera. I watched it, took notes of what needed to be changed, and recorded again. After the nth time, at least a few days before the demo, I believe I almost perfected it. And I was satisfied with the result.

I should also mention that the first two parts were a walk in the park. I just had to include some Nihonggo words/sentences in my introduction. And it goes something like this:

Hi, my name is …. And I am interviewing in  ….. Makati City, Philippines. Today is the 22nd of June, 2016. Part 1. Minna-san konnichiwa. Watashi wa …. desu. …to yonde kudasai. Hajimemashite.

It roughly translates to: Hello everyone, my name is.. You can call me … It’s nice to meet you. And then off to the English introduction. You just have to mention your educational  background, family (optional), age, hobbies, or anything interesting and relevant. And then another Nihonggo phrase, domo arigatou gozaimasu. Yoroshiku onegai shimasu. (Thank you very much. Let’s have good working relationship together.)

The second part was the reading passage. And if you’ve read my previous posts, you’d already know it. I just have to have eye contact with the camera, deliver with the correct projection, diction, voice modulation, etc. And it’s done.

After the recording, I was told to wait for the supervisor’s approval. After several minutes, I was called to the office once again. The boss congratulated me and told me that I did an excellent job. I was overfilled with joy. Thank God. I was told to wait for the call. We’ll just have to wait for the Board of Education’s approval.

Leave a Reply

