CocoIchi Curry

I have always loved curry. So you can imagine my delight when I first heard the news that Coco Ichibanya is (finally!) opening its first store here in Manila. I personally think that we already have too many ramen shops, cafés, and milk tea stalls around, perhaps it’s time to experience something  new.

Ichibanya Co., Ltd. owns the top curry rice restaurant chain in Japan, Curry House CoCo Ichibanya, or Coco Ichi as fondly called by locals and patrons alike. It currently owns both direct and franchise restaurants in several countries like the United States, Hong Kong, Singapore, and of course, the Philippines. They now have five branches operating across the country.

What I liked best in this curry house is the freedom to customize your meal. You can pre-select the amount of rice, level of heat to your sauce, and the entrées that will go with your curry. You can also upgrade your meal with an additional topping, dessert, or extra soup. Price usually ranges from Php250-500.

ichi menu

Of course, I wouldn’t pass the chance to try my ultimate favorite: tonkatsu!

Curry-House-Coco-Ichibanya-Review-Estancia-Mall-Pork-Cutlet-Omelet-Rice.jpg

 

I have tried several versions of this: from Tokyo Tokyo to Yabu. But I must say this one’s got a different blend to it. It sure doesn’t like it, but this was a hefty meal.

Meanwhile, my friends tried the vegetable and omelet hashed beef:

 

My verdict? The presentation of the food looked appetizing, plus the stunning aroma that comes with it. The sauce had the right amount of consistency and a tinge of spiciness. The pork was tender enough and the rice was flavorful. I wish I could’ve tried more though.

 

Leave a Reply

