Day Tour in Batam, Indonesia [2]

Next stop: Sari Bumbu restaurant. We were really eager to eat because we’re all starving. I was relieved to know that it’s a buffet restaurant, not seafood. I have previously read blogs indicating that they ate in a certain Golden Prawn 933/555. It was quite a popular option included in a tour package. It was supposedly “free” and with this, I certainly didn’t expect much. Some people were saying good reviews, but most were not satisfied. I often saw terms like mediocre, so-so, and tasteless. But it’s cheap!

Fortunately, we didn’t have the chance to taste it for ourselves. What we had was the typical Indonesian cuisine. Nothing fancy, though. It was pretty good, considering. I wouldn’t say it was tasteless, but it was so-so. There were several foods to choose from, with names I couldn’t decipher. The staff were very friendly in assisting us and answering our queries. I really find it funny that they initially talk in the native tongue, then suddenly get surprised when we respond in English. It would take awhile for them to talk once again. I especially loved the fact that we can eat as much as we like, and that there was ice cream. It was scorching hot outside.

12661830_1319756748050138_3101177272134003622_n.jpg

This was our first set, complete with soup and dessert. I remember coming back at least twice to get more. Haha 😀

After lunch, we headed to the next stop (and last temple for the day). It was probably the newest one we have visited. What I really liked about it was…the cute baby buddhas! There were a lot of them, each bearing some sign of good luck.

12717618_1319756804716799_703266498198836351_n.jpg

My friend said to hold the bag of money for prosperity. Hmmmm…..there’s no harm anyway.

Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple

And the biggest buddha was right there in the middle. I don’t see other tourists going near it, so we didn’t bother. We were pretty much contented with the babies.

After this, we went to several shops: chocolate, Polo (which they say is authentic), kueh lapis, local delicacies, batik (traditional fabric), and Batam shopping mall.

In all of these, we managed to spend all of our pocket money for that day. Ah, were they good at convincing! I was aghast when I found that I don’t have IDR cash left, only SGD! That made me stop and instead of buying another kueh lapis box, opted to get the buy one-take one chocolate bars I spotted in the mall. Not bad, eh?

And that’s it. Our day tour was done. I was somewhat satisfied, never mind my cashless bag. It was as if we went full-blown shopping spree. We went back to Singapore with loads of plastic bags and paper boxes. Considering the difference of price between these two countries, it was a good bargain still.

If you are interested in Batam or Bintan, for that matter, you may check out Travel Delightfully and book any of their packages.

Leave a Reply

